Those who have contributed articles to our blog
  • Gill Greer, Co-editor of “The People’s Report”
  • Girol Karacaoglu, Professor and Head of Victoria University’s School of Government
  • Jane Riddiford, Global Generation Founding Director
  • Katharine Woolrych, International Relations and Development Studies Graduate
  • Mike Joy, IGPS Senior Research Assistant
  • Ronja Ievers, External Relations Coordinator for Hui E! Community Aotearoa
  • Sylvie McLean
  • Taryn Hopkins, Masters of Public Policy at Te Herenga Waka – Victoria University of Wellington 

Thank you to all of our contributors who have donated their time and expertise in composing articles that help inform others

How to contribute to our blog

If you are interested in becoming a blog contributor, please read the following submission guidelines first:

  • We invite submissions of between 700 words and 1500 words in length.
  • The writing style should be aimed at an informed general New Zealand audience.
  • Sources should be APA referenced.
  • Suggested images need to be at least Creative Commons Attribution.
  • With an approved submission, you should include a short bio and (if possible) a professional headshot of reasonable resolution.
  • You grant permission for to host your submission.
Suggested themes include (but are not limited to):

Climate change
Community engagement
Development cooperation
Disability visibility and inclusion
Domestic violence (reduce)
Emergency response
Ending all forms of malnutrition
Eradication of extreme poverty

Financial risk protection
Food security
Global partnership
Hazardous chemicals
Health and wellbeing
Health coverage
Human Rights
Improved nutrition
Indigenous peoples
Inequality (reduce)
International cooperation
Justice, peace, and strong institutions

Poaching and trafficking
Policy frameworks
Production and consumption
Research and development
Safeguard cultural diversity and heritage
Seas and marine life
Small-scale food production
Social protection Sustainability
Sustainable agricultue
Sustainable tourism
Waste management
Water and sanitation

If you would like to inquire about making a submission, please contact:

Maria DaRocha or Girol Karacaoglu

Steering group

Collaborating organisations and steering group members are:

  • Barbara Bedeschi, New Zealand Federation of Business and Professional Women
  • David Corner, IHC New Zealand Professor 
  • Girol Karacaoglu, School of Government, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Iris Pahau, Remutaka Māori Women’s Welfare League and Awe Consultants Ltd
  • Jack Boyle, New Zealand Post Primary Teachers Association
  • Dr Joanna Spratt, Oxfam New Zealand
  • Julie Haggie, Transparency International New Zealand
  • Karena Brown, E Tū
  • Ronja Ievers, Hui E! Community Aotearoa
  • Stephen Goodman, Volunteer Service Abroad

Special thanks to our funders.

Scroll to top